Finding Rest for Your Soul

RestI found some really comforting truths this morning as I was reading my Bible. In Matthew 11:28-30, Jesus said,

Come unto me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.

When I think of a yoke, I think of restriction. You can’t get out of it. Hard work. I think of two cows or oxen trudging along in grueling work. I don’t think of rest.

oxenBut Jesus was addressing those who were already overburdened with life and were exhausted. Does that sound familiar? Jesus didn’t come to make the burden harder, but to come alongside us to bear the burdens that we already carry. He is yoking Himself to us (He will never leave us or forsake us!) Since He is infinitely stronger than we are, He’s carrying the load for us.

He also says that He is gentle. I don’t know about you, but when I am overwhelmed with the burdens of life, one harsh word is enough to send me over the edge. But Jesus isn’t like that. He cares for us and doesn’t condemn us for not having it all together. For needing His help…again.

He wants us to learn from Him. So many times, our troubles could have been avoided, if we had only done things in the right way. Sometimes, we push for what we think we want, but if it’s not what God has designed for us, we find ourselves floundering and overwhelmed. But God doesn’t berate us. “Come to me…learn from me…I will give you rest.”

About CallingUsUpward

“Relying on God has to begin all over again every day as if nothing yet had been done.” C.S.Lewis Andy and I have been married for 20 years and have three children in double digits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

