When in Doubt…Sing?

keep-calm-and-sing-to-god-3I was feeling a little mopey this morning. Andy, my husband, is away on business. This is his third trip in as many months. The last two were for a week; this time, it will be two. So when I awoke, I was feeling a little low. There’s still a week and a half to go. Adding to that is the fact that my uncle passed away, and while we weren’t close, he’s still family. And compounding it all is the fact that I’m not quite up to par physically.

I was having a little pity-party. But after half an hour of moping, I finally got out of bed, starting my morning with coffee and my Bible. I have been using a devotional that I had downloaded, and today’s passage was 2 Chronicles 20:12.

O our God, will You not judge them? For we are powerless before this great multitude who are coming against us; nor do we know what to do, but our eyes are on You.

Just a little bit of what I was feeling. But as I read the whole chapter, I was challenged. The Israelites under King Jehoshaphat were facing an attack from the Moabites and the Ammonites. The odds were decidedly against Israel (when isn’t it?) The enemy was described as “a great multitude” or “a great horde.” Jehoshaphat was overwhelmed. So what did he do? He proclaimed a fast throughout Judah and cried to the Lord. The Lord answered him telling him not to fear. All they had to do was to stand firm and see the Lord work for them.

Jehoshaphat responded in praise and worship (and those with him) with “a very loud voice”! The next day as they prepared for the battle, Jehoshaphat encouraged the people to believe in the Lord, and they would see God work. Then they did the most unusual thing–they sang! Jehoshaphat had singers go before the army singing “Give thanks to the Lord, for His lovingkindness is everlasting.” They trusted God to take care of them, they showed their trust by praising Him, and God did just as He had said.

Now, I don’t have a multitude of enemies ready to attack. My problems aren’t really even that big, they just seem that way. But in all things, I know that I can trust God. I can trust Him to take care of things–to take care of me because He loves me and has promised to do so.

So how do I express my trust in God–by moping around? No. It is by singing His praises. When I sing, it takes my focus off my situation and re-focuses it on God. Singing to God and worshiping Him in difficult circumstances is the ultimate expression of trust. It shows that even when we can’t see how God is going to resolve our troubles, we trust Him to do so in His time. We trust Him to carry us through. So when you don’t know what to do–SING!

About CallingUsUpward

“Relying on God has to begin all over again every day as if nothing yet had been done.” C.S.Lewis Andy and I have been married for 20 years and have three children in double digits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

