Is Trusting God the Key to a Healthy New Year?

2016 key2016. How in the world did it happen? I remember when even the thought of the year 2010 was incomprehensible. Yet time goes on, and while I’ve seen growth in my life, it seems like I’m stuck in a rut again. I’m tired of the same old, same old. Can you relate to that? It seems like there are so many areas where I’d like to see changes in both in my personal life and my family life that it can be overwhelming at times.

I think for me, one of the greatest desires for me is to be healthy. It’s not that I’m super sick or even plagued with sickness; I’m just tired of feeling blah. I’m tired of my clothes not fitting quite right. I wish I had more energy.

I know the key areas that I must improve in order to be healthy–proper rest, balanced diet, proper hydration, and the dreaded “E” word–exercise. But as I was reading my Bible this morning, I was reminded of another aspect that is so vital to my health. Trusting God.

My son, do not forget my teaching,
But let your heart keep my commandments;
For length of days and years of life
And peace they will add to you.
Do not let kindness and truth leave you;
Bind them around your neck,
Write them on the tablet of your heart.
So you will find favor and good repute
In the sight of God and man.
Trust in the Lord with all your heart
And do not lean on your own understanding.
In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He will make your paths straight.
Do not be wise in your own eyes;
Fear the Lord and turn away from evil.
It will be healing to your body
And refreshment to your bones.

Proverbs 3:1-8

One of the main reasons that we struggle with our health is that our lives are so stressful. It seems like we are trying to do too much. It can be that way for anyone, but it seems like that is more often the way for us as women. My mom had a mug that had this quote. “I am a working woman. I take care of a home. I hold down a job. I am nuts.”

Now, I’m NOT saying that it’s wrong for women to work outside the home. I appreciate all that my parents did for us. They did  what was necessary so that we could go to a Christian school. Some women have to work outside the home just to make the ends meet. I truly get that, because that’s where we are too. God gives grace for each thing He calls us to do. But how often do we go charging ahead trying to make things “work,” only to find that it’s causing us more grief? Do we seek the Lord in all that we do? Do we keep His principles and His Word before us and do them?

I’m not saying that obedience to God is the magical cure for any and all sickness, but there is the truth that much of the ick that we face in our everyday lives could be avoided if we had our lives in tune with what God has intended for us. Each person is different. What God has for me is not going to be what He has for you. But when I focus my energy on the roles God has for me and trust Him to take care of the things I can’t do (or that He doesn’t want me to do!), life goes much easier. I am able to get done what needs to be done. I am much more relaxed. So that even in the busyness of my days, I am refreshed.

Will you join me at the beginning of this new year in refocusing on the priorities that God has for you? I’m not talking about making new year’s resolutions. Just take some time to consider what roles God would have you fill and then be faithful to serve Him in those roles.

So what are some of the roles that God has for you? What are some things that should be dropped from your life?  Comment below and let me know how I can pray for you today.

About CallingUsUpward

“Relying on God has to begin all over again every day as if nothing yet had been done.” C.S.Lewis Andy and I have been married for 20 years and have three children in double digits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

