When Will the Time Be Right?

TimeIn 2012, I purchased a calendar from DaySpring. At the time, I didn’t realize who put out the calendar, I just liked it, and it was inexpensive. Score! But I didn’t realize what a gem I was getting. Inside the calendar was the usual piece of cardboard to keep the calendar nice. But instead of it being a blank and boring piece of cardboard, there was a message in the form of a poem.

When the time was right,
the sea parted,
the walls fell down,
the lions went hungry,
the sun stood still,
the star appeared,
the waves were calmed,
the stone was rolled away,
the Lord ascended…
And when the time is right,
the King of Kings will return.

God is never early and He’s never late –
He’s always right on time and His plans for you are good.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.”
Jeremiah 29:11 NIV

I was so excited! Maybe this was the time God was going to move us on, send us back into the ministry! My husband had been an assistant pastor for about 6 years. And then, he wasn’t. We knew that it was God’s hand, but that didn’t erase the pain and the struggle to make ends meet. Since then, it’s been a roller coaster. Sometimes creeping up to the top of the hill, where you take a breath, before you plunge down the other side.

So, almost four years later from my amazing find, we’re still on the roller coaster ride. Or maybe just on it again. “The time” hasn’t come yet. And you know what? I’m finding that it’s ok. I’m finding that God is faithful. That His grace is truly sufficient for each day. It’s not always easy. I still struggle some days. And you know what? I’m finding that that is really ok, too. As long as I continue to take my cares to my loving Heavenly Father and not wallow in my pain, I am growing stronger. I’m learning more about Who my wonderful Father is and learning more about myself.

I was reading 2 Corinthians 12 this morning, and verses 9-10 ministered to my soul. And He has said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.’ Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me.  Therefore I am well content with weaknesses, with insults, with distresses, with persecutions, with difficulties, for Christ’s sake; for when I am weak, then I am strong.”

So when will the time be right? I don’t know. It may be that what I had planned is not what God has in mind. But I do know that when the time IS right, God’s plan will be accomplished. I CAN trust Him, because what He does is good. It may not be easy yet. I may still need to grow. But I know that God is working all things out for His glory and my {eventual} good.

About CallingUsUpward

“Relying on God has to begin all over again every day as if nothing yet had been done.” C.S.Lewis Andy and I have been married for 20 years and have three children in double digits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When Will the Time Be Right?

  1. Trish Greenfield says:

    Beautifully written! Thank you for sharing your heart and thank you for your godly example. Love you, friend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

