To Obey or Not to Obey…

GodRewardsObedienceSamuel said,
“Has the Lord as much delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices As in obeying the voice of the Lord?
Behold, to obey is better than sacrifice,
And to heed than the fat of rams.
“For rebellion is as the sin of divination,
And insubordination is as iniquity and idolatry.
Because you have rejected the word of the Lord,
He has also rejected you from being king.”

1 Samuel 15:22-23

I have been seeing challenges posted on Facebook for a number of things. Recently, it has been a Bible verse challenge. For seven days, you are to post a verse that God is using in this particular season of  your life. A couple of weeks ago, my mom challenged me. I really meant to do it right away. In fact, verses started to come to mind that I could share, but life as it is, got crazy, and I never got to it.

But these verses have been burning in my mind. How often have I known what I really needed to do yet put off doing it just because I did not “feel” like doing it. And then later, I would regret it, confess it, and determine to make the right choice the next time. Yet, looking at these verses, I am challenged to think of my procrastination in a different light. Either I am obeying God in doing what I should be doing, or I am actually in rebellion to Him. We’ve seen kids throw a temper tantrum just because they “don’t want to” do {fill in the blank}. We would call that rebellion.

Yet how often do we do the same thing. Not as dramatically as the screaming child, but certainly in our hearts we rebel. And while I know that God doesn’t reject those who by faith have trusted in Jesus, He does withhold His blessing, and our usefulness is diminished.

I feel like I repeatedly face the same problem that Paul talks about in Romans 7:18-20.

18 For I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my flesh; for the willing is present in me, but the doing of the good is not. 19 For the good that I want, I do not do, but I practice the very evil that I do not want. 20 But if I am doing the very thing I do not want, I am no longer the one doing it, but sin which dwells in me.

What God is working on in me is to think first and to consider the consequences. Doing what is right will bring the peace and blessing that only only found in obedience. Delaying (rebelling) not only lets the work pile up and become a bigger problem, but it also mars my relationship with the Lord.

By His grace, I want to obey and find peace and blessing that only He can give.

About CallingUsUpward

“Relying on God has to begin all over again every day as if nothing yet had been done.” C.S.Lewis Andy and I have been married for 20 years and have three children in double digits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

