Haiku from the Past

boy writingWe have a wonderful relationship with the people at our chiropractor’s office. This last time, as we were discussing recent events, we told the receptionist about Jeff’s poetry assignment. That got me thinking about when he was in 5th grade (2010). One of the moms taught them creative writing. I had loved Jeff’s haiku and had posted them on a different blog. Way back when.

So, I thought I would find the article and share it here, so I wouldn’t forget.

My oldest son, Jefferson had a creative writing class last year in school. At the end of the year, he brought home one of his assignments on which he had composed four haiku. One of them was printed in the school newsletter, but I wanted to keep them all in a more permanent form. He’s 12, and I was just blown away by the imagery and the choice of words.

Soaring above all trees
Flapping in the windy gale
Gladness smiles on me

Water is slapping
Quietly the sun rises
Shining through my heart

Majestic mountain
Great cold heights tower above
Coldness piercing me

Grassy swishing day
Little plants grow to be trees
Just like I will be

I love you, buddy!

About CallingUsUpward

“Relying on God has to begin all over again every day as if nothing yet had been done.” C.S.Lewis Andy and I have been married for 20 years and have three children in double digits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

