Encouragement for Pastors’ Wives (and the rest of us as well!)

graceCollege friends of mine are entering their first pastorate soon and the wife asked for advice from other pastors’ wives. Though not currently in a vocational Christian ministry, these are the things I shared.

1.) Just be your sweet, caring self.

2.)Pray for and be your husband’s wife. That is your first calling. Then take care of your family. That is your second calling.

3.)Don’t feel like you “have” to do other ministries BECAUSE you are the “pastor’s wife.” Choose ministry opportunities that you would normally do, things that you are gifted in (singing!), things that God places on your heart.

4.)You may be called in to help with counseling. Bathe each opportunity in prayer, depending on the Lord’s help, not your own strength.

1 Thess. 5:24 “Faithful is He who calls you, and He also will bring it to pass.” That became my go to verse in college. God has brought you to this point; He will give you the grace and wisdom to do it.

I was also reminded of a song that she might have sung when she was in the school’s traveling ensemble. It’s the song “Grace” by Carolyn Hamlin.grace praying

Grace
by Carolyn Hamlin

Lord, as I seek your guidance for the day,
I find my thoughts unyielding: confusion clouds my way,
But, then when I bow to you, the challenges you guide me through,
Your promises are ever new: I claim them for today.

Your will cannot lead me where your grace cannot keep me.
Your hand will protect me: I rest in your care.
Your eyes will watch over me: Your love will forgive me.
And when I am faltering, I still will find you there.

Each new day’s design is guided by your hand,
And graciously revealed as I seek your Master plan.
Keep my footsteps faithful when from you I go.
Return me to the joy that your blessings can bestow.

Your will cannot lead me where your grace cannot keep me.
Your hand will protect me: I rest in your care.
Your eyes will watch over me: Your love will forgive me.
And when I am faltering, I still will find you there.

Your eyes will watch over me,
Your love will forgive me,
And when I am faltering,
Lord, I will find you there.

What rich words for us to consider. Not just for pastors’ wives, but for all of us as well. We all falter and fail, but God is there. He is faithful whether we are ~ or not. He will give us the grace to do what He has called us to do today. Let’s lean on His strength today!

About CallingUsUpward

“Relying on God has to begin all over again every day as if nothing yet had been done.” C.S.Lewis Andy and I have been married for 20 years and have three children in double digits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

