Say Goodbye to Survival Mode: a book review

overwhelmed-womanRSOver the past year or so, I have struggled with the feeling like I was stuck in quicksand. Just as it seemed like I’d get out of the pit, I’d get sucked back in. I hated it. I was so tired of falling back in and not truly breaking free. I kept crying out to the Lord, and by His grace, He gave me an opportunity to preview a book written by Crystal Paine of MoneySavingMom.com. Not only does she provide tips and tools and helpful resources on her website, but she has written a book Say Goodbye to Survival Mode. I was amazed that I was one of the ones selected to be part of the launch team, but I know it was of God since it was exactly what I needed. I was barely surviving.

This has been one of the most practical books I have ever read. Crystal’s transparency with her life story resonated with me and made me feel like I had a new friend, my own personal cheerleader.

This book comes down to three words. Hope. Intentional. Grace. (And trust me, it really bugs my perfectionistic, grammar-loving self that the second word is not a noun).

Crystal gives hope to those who feel like they can’t get it together. You don’t have to “do it all.” She helps you to see that you don’t need to feel guilty if you have to say “No” to something. She gives you the tools that you need to succeed and even walks you through setting goals. Probably the most helpful part of this for me was that she shares her goals and how she works through each step.

I could not find a noun that fit the idea of being intentional with the decisions you make each day. In fact, intentional almost became my word for 2014. You have to know where you want to go in order to get there. You have to have to know the steps you need to take, making conscious choices to work toward that goal. We only have so much time, energy, and resources available to us. So for me, the key to getting out of survival mode is focused determination. Being intentional.

Finally, the word grace. If you are perfectionistic like I am, you will get hung up on the “program” and feel like a failure that you aren’t succeeding. A goal is simply that ~ a goal. True success is not necessarily accomplishing the goal. The success is the progress that you have made and the things you learned through it.

“Fancy systems or a three-step program won’t turn you into a super disciplined person. Change must come from within. You have to believe you can change. You have to WANT to change. And you need to have something worth changing for, like an inspiring, audacious goal. The bottom line is if you’re not willing to put forth the effort, you’re never going to get very far in life.”~ Crystal Paine

“Ok,” you say, “That’s great for you, but the book’s not out yet. How will that help me?” Glad you asked! There are a couple of things you can do right now. If you go to Crystal’s blog, MoneySavingMom.com, she has a 7-day challenge where you can start re-claiming your life and see what a difference it makes! Secondly, if you pre-order the book, you get over $125 in Freebies and Discounts that include planners, organizers and meal plans. So, not only do you get a practical book, but the tools that you need to succeed.

Thank you , Lord for bringing this opportunity in to my life, and for the change you are working in me. And thanks, Crystal, for being used by the Lord. You have been such a blessing to so many people.

Say Goodbye to Survival Mode

About CallingUsUpward

“Relying on God has to begin all over again every day as if nothing yet had been done.” C.S.Lewis Andy and I have been married for 20 years and have three children in double digits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

