Thanks, Andy!

ImageWhen my husband and I were in college, he created a song about our relationship. It was pretty and touching. If I remember right, he sang it to me when he proposed. He recently re-wrote it, adding verses that told the whole story and then hired someone to do a piano improv of it that is absolutely beautiful. I find myself listening to it repeatedly throughout the day, and it encourages me. First of all, it encourages me to be thankful for my husband and to remember those special times. Secondly, the beauty of the music feeds my musical soul. It may just be the best money he has ever spent.

Here are the lyrics:

You and I

I still remember the first day we met,
Floppy hair and pretty smile.
Chose a seat in chapel next to yours,
Thought I’d stay for just a while.

Do you remember when I asked you out?
If you would like to go with me
To the banquet where they sang a song
That seemed to know our destiny.

You and I
Till the day we die
How can I wish for more?

And then recall the day with many friends,
We pledged our vows and gave a kiss?
No one else will ever come between
Because I still believe in this…

You and I
Till the day we die
How can I wish for more?

It seems like just the other day we met,
How the times have passed us by.
But it’s still you forever that I love,
Love until the day we die

You and I
Till the day we die
How can I wish for more?Wedding Pic at Allegheny

If you would like to enjoy the music as well you can find it at http://andyrupert.com/special/you_and_i.mp3

Thanks, Andy! I love you!

About CallingUsUpward

“Relying on God has to begin all over again every day as if nothing yet had been done.” C.S.Lewis Andy and I have been married for 20 years and have three children in double digits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thanks, Andy!

  1. kimandrich2002 says:

    absolutely beautiful

  2. Pingback: A Song for Sharon | Painesville Bible Study

  3. Katie Rupert says:

    I’ve never actually read the words before… Wow its really nice

Leave a Reply

