Jewels from Lamentations

22 The Lord’s lovingkindnesses indeed never cease,
For His compassions never fail.
23 They are new every morning;
Great is Your faithfulness.
24 “The Lord is my portion,” says my soul,
“Therefore I have hope in Him.”
25 The Lord is good to those who wait for Him,
To the person who seeks Him.

31 For the Lord will not reject forever,
32 For if He causes grief,
Then He will have compassion
According to His abundant lovingkindness.
33 For He does not afflict willingly
Or grieve the sons of men.

 

I have been off and on doing a chronological reading through the Bible. Sometimes, I will take a break and do a specific devotional for a while but always coming back to the plan. Lately, I have been enjoying my times in the major prophets. Over and over again, I find that God hates sin. In His mercy, He allows us time to repent and turn to Him, but there comes a point when He will judge. He condemned Israel and Judah for their rebellion against Him. He used the nations around them to exact His judgment on them. He then condemns those nations, because they had followed their own desires to wipe out God’s people. God always keeps his promises. He had promised to Abraham, “And I will bless those who bless you, and the one who curses you I will curse. And in you all the families of the earth will be blessed.”

But among all the doom and gloom are precious jewels that God reveals about Himself. He is faithful. His compassion never fails. We can  hope in Him. He is good to those who seek Him. He does not cast off forever. He does not delight in afflicting His children but does so because He knows us and does what it takes to draw us closer to Himself.

I find personal encouragement in this, remembering that God has a plan for my life. I cannot see the whole picture and even what I do see, doesn’t always make sense. God won’t “reject” me forever. There are things that I’m still learning, areas that need growth. It’s just nice to know that it won’t be forever. So keep on becoming like Christ. Be holy. Cultivate faithfulness.

About CallingUsUpward

“Relying on God has to begin all over again every day as if nothing yet had been done.” C.S.Lewis Andy and I have been married for 20 years and have three children in double digits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

