Speak, Lord

Speak, for your servant is listening.
1 Samuel 3:10

If you’re like me, you long to do something great for God. You want your life to count for something. You want to make a difference. I came across this verse this morning in my time with the Lord, and was struck with how ready and available Samuel was to hear the voice of the Lord. Verse 7 tells us that “Samuel did not yet know the Lord, nor had the word of the LORD yet been revealed to him.” What really spoke to me was that he was prepared to hear what God had to tell him. He was serving God in the tabernacle with a willing heart by doing whatever was asked of him by Eli. His readiness to do Eli’s bidding is evidenced by his immediate response to the voice calling his name. He followd Eli’s instructions without question, whether it is to go back to bed or respond to God’s voice. He was ready.

So what is God calling me to do? What is my “big calling?” Honestly, I’m still trying to figure that out. But more important than knowing the big picture, is am I really ready to hear what God has for me? Have I already responded to His voice, doing what I already know He has called me to do? Ok, so what is God calling us to do? Glad you asked!

God is calling us to be holy. Any time the Israelites, in their wilderness wanderings, faced a momentous occasion, they were told to consecrate themselves. 1 Peter 1:15-16 says, “But like the Holy One who called you, be holy yourselves also in all your behavior; because it is written, ‘You shall be holy, for I am holy.'”  I am supposed to be just like God. How much like Him am I really? Ouch. I’m thankful for God’s grace and forgiveness because I fall woefully short of that. Each day I need to seek His face and rely on the help of the Holy Spirit

Another thing God is calling us to do is to be faithful. “Women likewise must be…faithful.” (1 Timothy 3:11) The work of the ministry was to be passed on to “faithful men” (2 Timothy 2:2). And the Bible is filled with tributes to God’s faithfulness. Jesus, in the gospel of Luke, observes the character trait that “He who is faithful in a very little thing is faithful also in much” (Luke 16:10). And He further gives the parable of the talents rewarding those who were faithful with greater responsibility.

So, do you want to make a difference in your world? To do something great for God? Focus on who God wants you to be. Be holy. Be faithful. Be ready to answer when God calls.

About CallingUsUpward

“Relying on God has to begin all over again every day as if nothing yet had been done.” C.S.Lewis Andy and I have been married for 20 years and have three children in double digits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

