He’ll Give You Rest

“Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30

How often do we get overwhelmed with the things that we need to do each day? Lately, it’s been incredibly overwhelming. We are trying to get schooling finished for the year, and some are struggling to get the work done. This year, I also started a running club for homeschoolers so that my kids could do the JUST RUN® program that they did last year. So we go three times a week to a local park to practice. I’ve had some minor physical issues over the past few weeks. And it’s been hot! I haven’t physically felt like getting the things done at home that needed to be done and just overwhelmed by it all.

Jesus says, “Come to me…I will give you rest.” He knows all the things you have on your plate. Things that need to get done. Things that you truly can’t let go. But when we cry out to the Lord of Love, He hears. He calls us to take up His yoke.

Most of us do not live in an agrarian society that uses oxen for plowing fields, but that image of a yoke at first thought is not very encouraging. My first thought is, “Ugh! Work. That’s too hard.” But we are already working. We are burdened by the never-ending work that we have. That’s when the beauty of the yoke comes in. When we take His yoke on us, Jesus is there to help us pull the load. The One who has infinite power and resources pulling “with” us, basically carrying us.

There’s only one problem with that. We have to be pulling in the same direction. If we are  trying to go our own way and demanding that God help us, it won’t work. We have to be pulling in the same direction that God is, going the way He wants us to go. It is then that the yoke truly is “easy” and the burden “light.” Then, we will have true rest, doing what God wants us to do and having peace and joy despite the work, because He is our strength.

Psalm 28:7 “The Lord is my strength and my shield; My heart trusts in Him, and I am helped; Therefore my heart exults, And with my song I shall thank Him.”

About CallingUsUpward

“Relying on God has to begin all over again every day as if nothing yet had been done.” C.S.Lewis Andy and I have been married for 20 years and have three children in double digits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

