Christ–Alone

I’ll be honest. The past few weeks have been rough. So much has happened on a personal level and in my world in general. It’s not really necessary to spell it all out, but I found myself sliding back into my old ways. And not liking it one bit.

Some of it was that I was recovering from having teeth extracted. That takes forever! I physically did not feel like doing anything beyond the absolute necessities, and even then, sometimes those didn’t get done. I began spending more time on the computer which I enjoyed for a while. But it just became a habit and did not “fulfill” me like it had been.

Yesterday, things finally came to a head. I had a last minute project that would not turn out right no matter what I did to it. I left my wallet at home when I went to pick up some things at the neighborhood drug store. The clerk was making light of it which made me feel like she was poking fun at me. I went to a graduation open house and re-connected with some old friends, but still came home feeling empty. I took a nap, exhausted by my emotions. More time on the computer. Nothing satisfied.

I awoke this morning with the realization that I had been looking for my significance and satisfaction in surface things, temporal things. I was struck anew that Christ is the one that makes me significant. When I do what He has called me to do, I find true fulfillment. In Christ, I have redemption. In Christ, I have hope. In Christ, I have been blessed with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places. I am made alive in Christ. I could list so many more things that I have “in Christ,” but the point is, that the world really offers us nothing. Family, friends, circumstances will waver and fail.

I need to find my significance, my peace, my contentment in Christ alone.

About CallingUsUpward

“Relying on God has to begin all over again every day as if nothing yet had been done.” C.S.Lewis Andy and I have been married for 20 years and have three children in double digits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christ–Alone

  1. Trish says:

    Well put! Praise the Lord He is our all.

Leave a Reply

