Where Can I Hide?

Meditating this morning on Psalm 139. It is a beautiful Psalm showing us the heart of God. He knows us so intimately. He made us, how could He NOT know us?

O LORD, You have searched me and known me.
You know when I sit down and when I rise up;
You understand my though from afar.
You scrutinize my path and my lying down,
And are intimately acquainted with all my ways.
Even before there is a word on my tongue,
Behold, O LORD, You know it all.

Today, my mind is just blown away with the extent of God’s knowledge. He knows–EVERYTHING! As human beings with finite minds, how can we even hope to grasp the scope of the infinite. It is both convicting and comforting that God knows me. He knows my heart, that I want to do what is right and to please Him. He doesn’t forget that I am human and will fail. He’s compassionate and gracious. That’s comforting.

The conviction comes in when I think that He KNOWS me. I can’t hide anything from Him. He knows when I sit down to read an exciting book when I really should be doing something else. Or when I get distracted at the computer and end up spending way too much time on the internet. I can hide it from my kids, but I can’t hide it from God. He understands my thoughts. No one else can do that. I can’t even comprehend them completely! Jeremiah 17:9 says, “The heart is more deceitful than all else and is desperately sick; Who can understand it?” How many times have you said or done something and wonder, “Where did that come from?” We don’t even truly know our own hearts. But God does. He even knows the words I am going to say before I speak them! Yes, I’d say that He knows me.

Thankfully, “He Himself knows our frame; He is mindful that we are but dust.” Psalm 103:14. He is merciful and compassionate. He promises to forgive when we turn to Him in repentance and faith. He loves us and longs to help us to become more like Him.

About CallingUsUpward

“Relying on God has to begin all over again every day as if nothing yet had been done.” C.S.Lewis Andy and I have been married for 20 years and have three children in double digits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

