Redeeming the Time

 

Time now is short and Christ’s return draws nearer every day.
The world and the wicked lusts thereof doth quickly pass away.
Let us be walking circumspectly, not as fools but wise–
Fixing our thoughts on the Lord’s appearing, looking to the skies!

 Redeeming the time for the days are evil,
Trusting His Word, let us watch and pray.
Rejoicing in hope for He cometh quickly,
Haste to prepare His way –
Redeeming the time.

This song has been going through my mind this morning as I consider what God has been doing in my life lately. I felt like I was just “sludging” through life and knew that I needed to make some changes. I had been praying and had asked friends to pray for me as I sought to make some changes. God brought a book to my attention that has really changed my attitude and thinking, but not in the way I was expecting. It was about getting up early. You know the maxim: “Early to bed, early to rise, makes a man healthy, wealthy, and wise.” It’s not that I expect that overnight I will become healthy, wealthy, and wise, but that I am learning to take control of my day and learning the discipline of Redeeming the Time.

God wants us to do more than exist, caught up in or own little worlds. He wants to use us to be His messengers to a lost world. He wants us to find His place for us and to do it well. For some, it is to serve in and through the home. For some, it is to serve in the workplace. Whatever God has called us to do, wherever He has us to serve, we need to do it fully, joyfully and excellently, ministering His grace to those around us.

What is God calling you to do? Would you join me in this journey? Let’s keep pressing onward and upward!

About CallingUsUpward

“Relying on God has to begin all over again every day as if nothing yet had been done.” C.S.Lewis Andy and I have been married for 20 years and have three children in double digits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

