I Saw God Wash the World

One of the things I remember about high school is the poetry “book” we had to assemble for a grade. It required finding poems (I think we had to do forty!), writing two poems and critiquing five. Each poem had its own page and had to be illustrated somehow, either by drawing something or clipping pictures. It was quite the production. We had to do the typing ourselves ~ way back then, it was on manual typewriters using white-out strips for correction! Ugh! What a headache!

Now, I loved English class–give me grammar and diagramming any day! I love to read, too but hated the literature part of it, because you had to tear these works apart and be able to tell why the author wrote what he did or why he wrote the way he did. I don’t know!? Not exactly my cup of tea.

Thankfully for my project, Mom had a wealth of pictures that she had collected and helped me cut out my poems in unique shapes that fit the poem. One of the poems that I had chosen was “I Saw God Wash the World.” There was a picture of a girl with a red umbrella standing outside her stone house in the rain with the front light on. We may have even cut the poem out in a raindrop shape. Perfect.

All this is going through my mind this morning as the sun rises on a cool-ish, damp morning. The birds are chirping excitedly and the ground is still damp from the good soaking God gave it yesterday. Twice. Thank you Lord for your cleansing, healing rain!

 

I SAW GOD WASH THE WORLD
William L. Stidger

I saw God wash the world last night
With His sweet showers on high;
And then when morning came
I saw him hang it out to dry.
He washed each slender blade of grass
And every trembling tree;
He flung his showers against the hills
And swept the rolling sea.

The white rose is a deeper white;
The red, a richer red
Since God washed every fragrant face
And put them all to bed.

There’s not a bird, there’s not a bee
That wings along the way,
But is a cleaner bird and bee
Than it was yesterday.

I saw God wash the world last night;
Ah, would He had washed me
As clean of all my dust and dirt
As that old white birch tree!

About CallingUsUpward

“Relying on God has to begin all over again every day as if nothing yet had been done.” C.S.Lewis Andy and I have been married for 20 years and have three children in double digits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

